Shopping Basket: 0 items (subtotal £0.00)
View Basket
Search Products:
Free Delivery
on orders of £50 or over
Click for more info
Now Accepting PayPal

Types Of Coffee

There are two main species of bean, arabica and robusta. Both thrive in equatorial regions.

Robusta is grown at lower altitudes, 0 to 700 metres, and has a high yield per plant and high caffeine content (1.7 to 4.0%). It accounts for about 30% of world production. Robusta has a stronger flavour than arabica with a full body and a woody aftertaste which is useful in creating blends and especially useful in instant coffee.

Robusta is mainly grown in the following regions:

  • Western and Central Africa (Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Uganda, Angola, etc.)
  • Malaysia (Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Sumatra, Java, etc.)
  • Brazil
  • India

Arabica grows at higher altitudes, 1000 to 2000 metres, and while it has a lower yield and less caffeine content (0.8 to 1.4%) it is widely recognised to be superior to robusta. Arabica accounts for about 70% of world production, although only about 10% of this yields "grand cru" beans. Arabica has a delicate acidic flavour, a refined aroma and a caramel aftertaste.

Arabica is mainly grown in the following regions:

  • Central America (Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama)
  • South America (Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Paraguay, Argentina)
  • India
  • Eastern Africa (Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Mozambique)
  • Papua New Guinea

Many of the cheaper blends have a higher proportion of robusta compared to arabica. Some high quality blends use a small quantity of the very best robusta beans to give body and character to the blends, particularly in espresso blends.

You are not signed in
Items purchased
today can be returned
up until 17 Feb 2018.
90 Days!
Click for details
Copyright © 2017 Another Coffee Ltd
We accept
Payments Accepted